The Polar Pom-Pom Project

March 8, 2013 § Leave a comment

We were excited to hear about the Polar Pom-Pom Project! Deborah Hamon (local to the Be Sweet headquarters in CA) has started a Kickstarter campaign running the entire month of March to visit the Arctic. Please take a moment to watch her video here and visit her Facebook page here.

Be Sweet (BS): Tell us more about the Pom-Pom Project… How did it get started, what is the goal and what is it all about?

project image2

Deborah Hamon (DH): I am a painter and a photographer and for the past 10 years my artwork has focused on children. When I was selected to join The Arctic Circle Expedition this fall — an amazing program where I will travel to the remote Arctic with a select group of other artists, scientists and educators — I started thinking that maybe there was a way to connect kids directly with the Arctic and get them talking and thinking about climate change and what they can do to help the environment.

So while I was thinking about all sorts of ideas, my 8-year-old daughter was making pom-poms. She loves to make them and this small, white pom-pom she had made reminded me of a snowball, and that is where the initial idea for The Polar Pom-Pom Project began.

TPPPP1

I plan to take hundreds, maybe thousands, of yarn pom-poms, made by children and myself, to the Arctic to create an artwork series that addresses climate change. I am working with 3rd, 4th and 5th grade classrooms and so far, have amassed 700 pom-poms using eco-friendly yarn donated by yarn companies including Be Sweet. I go into classrooms and talk about my project, have the kids tell me what they know about climate change, we discuss ways to help the environment and then we make pom-poms! It’s super fun for the kids and teachers report back that there is a sudden increase in pom-pom making at home! Every kid receives an official Polar Pom-Pom Project certificate which I encourage them to share and display, to inspire them to talk with their peers about the project, global warming and the Arctic.

BS: What is your favorite thing to knit (aside from pom-poms!)?

IMG_8450

DH: I am actually not a knitter at all. In fact I didn’t know much about yarn when I first started this project. But after realizing that I would be using a lot of yarn, it became very important for me to consider the fibers I was using and make sure that they were eco-friendly. Now I know so much about yarn, and I use terms such as “yummy” and “gorgeous” to describe yarn –I am very much turning into a yarn geek! My daughter knows how to knit though – she may have to teach me once this project is over. For now, it’s all about pom-poms.

BS: What is your favorite Be Sweet yarn?

DH: Be Sweet Sensation Thick, natural yarn (handspun merino wool & natural silk) makes fabulous pom-poms – the kids love have fluffy it is! I am also loving the Brushed Mohair, although you have to use multiple threads at a time or it would take forever. I am using an Arctic color palette for this project, but for my next yarn project, whatever that may be, I am a pink girl, and I love all the Be Sweet pinks!

IMG_8443

BS: Favorite sweet treat?

DH: I eat dark chocolate on a daily basis. My favorite right now is organic Fearless Chocolate – just a couple of squares a day is all you need. And if you offered me a small caramel covered with dark chocolate and a little sea salt, I’d be your best friend forever!

IMG_8428

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Polar Pom-Pom Project at Be Sweet Blog Waggle Dancing.

meta

