Sonya Philip

October 12, 2012 § Leave a comment

We’re big fans of Brookyln’s Textile Arts Center. If you haven’t been to their site, be sure to take a look!

We wanted to share with you a post they wrote about Sonya Philip.

Sonya Philip

By Lenora
Sonya Philip, born in the Philippines and now living in San Francisco, creates highly skilled yarn pieces that break the boundary between craft and fine art. Her work often deals with disruption as her yarn work seeps out of mass produced objects, adding the human touch to machine made objects. The intricacy and delicacy of her works display her interest in tedious practices.

Visit her website here.

——–

Sonya’s artists statement states, “I am a maker. My path started with macrame and sewing as a child, but knitting was the lingua franca I found in my twenties. The needle arts, traditionally associated with domesticity, are at once a display of femininity and a feminist statement. I have always straddled different worlds, whether through my mixed-race heritage or the mutually demanding roles of mother and artist. I am accustomed to the interplay and at home in the places where art and craft intersect.

My work is born of patience. There is a simple intricacy in each stitch and an incremental care in making things by hand. I love to see how far I can push the craft or what unlikely material I can use. I am drawn to natural fibers and have respect for the direct connection to the plant or animal. I work primarily in small series, they might be discrete ideas or ones that feed from one to suggest another. There are times when the gestation of a piece guides the process. I take great pleasure in seeing an idea fully formed and even more so when the initial concept changes in a way that exceeds my expectations.”

How cool is that?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Sonya Philip at Be Sweet Blog Waggle Dancing.

meta

