Knit Simple!

April 6, 2011 § Leave a comment

Guess what hits newsstands today, April 6th, dear readers? The Spring/Summer Issue of Knit Simple Magazine!

© Soho Publishing

This new issue features a T-Shirt Tote (#26) designed by Sophia Boero-Kurnik, owner of Bluebird Yarns in Sausalito, CA, knit in T-Shirt by Be Sweet. This sassy little tote takes only 4 hanks of T-Shirt in teal. Check it out on KnitSimple Up Close on Knitsimplemag.com.

© Knit Simple Spring/Summer 2011, photo by Paul Amato

Since we love Sophie, we decided to ask her a few questions…

Be Sweet (BS): When did you start knitting and who taught you?

Sophie Boero-Kurnik (SBK): I started knitting when I was 27 years old.  I am self-taught but relied heavily on Knitting in Plain English by Maggie Righetti.  My mom did teach me how to crochet, though.

BS: Where did you grow up and what inspired you to pick up knitting in the first place?

SBK: I grew up in Marin County, CA where I still live today.  I had just had a baby and have always loved hand arts.  The geek in me loves math, puzzles, and problem solving and I find there’s a lot of that in knitting.

BS: Where did you go to school?

SBK: I went to UC Berkeley and have a BS in Political Economies of Natural Resources.

BS: Where do you currently live?

SBK: Marin County, CA.  I own Bluebird Yarn in Sausalito

BS: What is your favorite fiber and color?

SBK: I’m partial to a high quality merino.  I like lots of colors but I especially love yellow and grey together.

BS: What is your favorite BS yarn?

SBK: T-shirt.  It’s unlike any other yarn out there.  It can tend to knit up densely so I like trying to figure out projects that will show off its drape and softness.

BS: what kinds of things do you like to design the most?

SBK: I tend to design fairly easy projects because it reaches a larger audience at the store.  I do like things with a little playfulness.  I don’t take myself too seriously.

BS: What is your fantasy knitting project (if money, time and gravity wasn’t an issue)?

SBK: I would love to have the time to make a dress that fit my body.  Maybe a combination of kit and crochet.

BS: What is your favorite sweet?

SBK: Rum cake.

BS: Any advice for people interested in designing?

SBK: Try to have someone test knit it.  There’s nothing worse than finding out there are errors.  When there are errors, correct them and move on.

Sophie, wearing one of her designs

Thanks, Sophie!

Head on out and pick up your copy of Knit Simple today!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Knit Simple! at Be Sweet Blog Waggle Dancing.

meta

